Sean C. Ewing places first in Mebane City Council election

Sean C. Ewing (left) earned the highest overall vote total in Tuesday's Mebane City Council election, earning 687 votes across four precincts (27.4 percent) to take his place on the Mebane City Council. Incumbent Patty Philipps (right) placed second overall with 659 votes (26.3 percent) to earn another four-year term on the elected board. Ewing will replace longtime City Councilman Everette Greene, who placed third overall with 496 votes (19.8 percent). Ed Hooks, running unopposed, received nearly 1,100 total votes to become Mebane's new Mayor. 

The Mebane City Council will have a new face in 2020, as Sean Ewing, in his second run, has earned a spot on the local elected board. With all four precincts reporting in Alamance and Orange Counties, Ewing earned the highest number of votes in the municipal election. 

While Philipps will return to the City Council, Ewing will replace another longtime City Council member, Everette Greene, who placed third in the voting. More than 2,500 total votes were ultimately cast in this year’s Mebane City Council race. 

Ed Hooks, who ran unopposed in the Mebane Mayor’s race, will move across the aisle and take his place as the de facto leader of the town. 

Hooks, who has more than 30 years of experience on the Mebane City Council, received a grand total of 1,091 votes across two counties. There will be a special election to replace Hooks’ spot on the City Council next year. 



Ed Hooks     1,091 votes     92.7 percent

Write-In (Misc.)     85 votes     7.2 percent



Sean C. Ewing     687 votes     27.4 percent

Patty Philipps      659 votes     26.3 percent

Everette Greene     496 votes     19.8 percent

Shelby Dent     446 votes     17.8 percent

Jim Harding     213 votes     8.5 percent