Golfers brave storms for annual Dogwood tourney at Mill Creek

The foursome of Luke Whitt, Keith McDaniel, Lee Shanklin, and Aaron Shanklin, pictured above, posted a third place finish at Friday's Dogwood Festival Golf Tournament. Whitt, McDaniel, and the Shanklins produced a score of 19-under-par 53, which was one shot off the overall lead. Despite thunderstorms that forced temporary delays throughout the afternoon, approximately 80 golfers were able to complete the 18-hole, shotgun start tournament. 

The Mebane Dogwood Festival’s annual golf tournament returned to Mill Creek Golf Club on Friday afternoon, where approximately 80 golfers took their shots. Despite challenging weather, which included occasional thunderstorms that halted play, the Shotgun Start, best-ball tournament produced some outstanding final scores. 

When it was all said and done, a pair of foursomes finished tied for first place with combined team scores of 20-under-par 52. Those foursomes consisted of David Wyatt, Brennan Wyatt, Kyle Austin, and Jamie Nelms, as well as Tom Puckett, Mike Bowman, Brandon Birch, and Bill Couch. Third place was posted by a foursome consisting of Luke Whitt, Keith McDaniel, Lee Shanklin, and Aaron Shanklin, who joined forces to shoot a 19-under-par 53. 

Five additional foursomes shot scores in the 50’s, including a team consisting of Will Walker, Blair Bowland, Artis Burnette, and Jake Hinson, who shot a combined 18-under-par score of 54 as a group. Three foursomes combined to shoot team scores of 56, while another shot a 14-under-par 68. All foursomes that finished the 18-hole round came in at least 5-under-par. 

Along with the golf itself, there were various contests, such as the County Ford Hole in One competition that brought the chance to win a new Ford car, as well as a wide range of door prizes and free gifts. Though nobody won the free car, plenty of people walked away with items including free golf accessories and clothing. It was a fantastic way to kick off this year’s annual Mebane Dogwood Festival celebration. 


First Place (-20, 52) David Wyatt, Brennan Wyatt, Kyle Austin, Jamie Nelms

First Place (-20, 52) Tom Puckett, Mike Bowman, Brandon Birch, Bill Couch 

Third Place (-19, 53) Luke Whitt, Keith McDaniel, Lee Shanklin, Aaron Shanklin

Fourth Place (-18, 54) Will Walker, Blair Bowland, Artis Burnette, Jake Hinson

Fifth Place (-16, 56) Brandon Zachary, Austin Dubisar, Steve Hamlin, Greg Wright

Fifth Place (-16, 56) Gary Brant, Craig Matteo, Kurt Pearson, Tommy Neville

Fifth Place (-16, 56) Jim West, Ron Clark, Eric Johnson, Sherry Stanley-Martin 

Eighth Place (-14, 58) Jr Hayes, Duane Copeland, Doug Harward, Mac McMurry

Ninth Place (-12, 60) Bubba Martin, Jay Parker, Rob White, Rick Ashby

Tenth Place (-11, 61) Tony Laws, Mikie Morrison, Griffin McClure, Guil Johnson 

Eleventh Place (-10, 62) Jennifer Livers, Dave Livers, Ryan Livers, Matt Morrison 

Twelfth Place (-9, 63) Kevin Cook, Jay Crumpler, Rui Clemente, Brandon Vincent 

Twelfth Place (-9, 63) Ted Zeller, Johnnie Wright, Richard LeBennett, Wally Ewalt 

Twelfth Place (-9, 63) Ryan Wittig, Ted Mims, Chad Holloway, Dave McGee

Fifteenth Place (-8, 64) Waverly Epes and Team 

Fifteenth Place (-8, 64) Barry Harward, Petie Harward, Butch Wolfe, Snook Murphy

Seventeenth Place (-6, 66) Atticus Simpson, Brian Jones, Cuabeya Woods, Frances Lee

Eighteenth Place (-5, 67) Chris Groh, Mark Talley, Dave Dodson, Eric Graff 

Eighteenth Place (-5, 67) Greg Fischer, Melissa Goss, Tim Moriarty, Shailesh Bambardekar