Mebane City Hall

The race for the three vacant Mebane City Council seats is heating up, as all the candidates who intend to run were required to file their candidacy by noon on Friday, July 16.

Friday, July 16 at noon was the deadline for those planning to run in this fall’s municipal elections in Alamance County to file their candidacy, and it appears there will be, at least, two new faces on the Mebane City Council following the election.

Those who have filed for the three up-for-grabs are as follows: Councilmember Tim Bradley, incumbent city council member; Jonathan White, a local businessman; Katie Burkholder, a local real estate agent; Montreena Hadley, a former Planning Officer with the City of Mebane; and Charles Lopez, also a local real estate agent; and Roger Parker, former state representative candidate and former interim Alamance County Commissioner.

There are a couple notable names who won’t be running again this time around, as well. Current Mayor Pro Tem Jill Auditori did not file for reelection, nor did Councilmember Everette Greene. Their terms end at the end of 2021. Auditori and Greene had been members of the council since 2009 and 2005, respectively.

That means Mebanites will have, at least, two new councilmembers after November’s election, with only one incumbent running this year and three seats open.

Leading up to the election, the Mebane Enterprise will hold in-depth interviews with all six candidates to find out where they stand on the issues that are important to, and are affecting, Mebane and its residents. Those interviews will be published over the next couple months.

Absentee by mail voting for the municipal elections begins October 1, while the deadline to register to vote in the elections is October 8. Early voting begins October 14 and runs through October 30.

This year, election day is Tuesday, November 2. The polls open that day at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. You can cast your vote at any of the following three locations: the Mebane Arts and Community Center, E.M. Yoder Elementary School, or Hawfields Middle School.