Save the date HOF 2022 (8.5 × 11 in)

The Mebane Sports Hall of Fame will be inducting multiple new members this year, including former Eastern High basketball star Gerald Smith, the EAHS state championship relay teams from 2005, and track and field founder J.J. Knox are among the inductees, while Debbie Bullins, Glendel Stephenson, and Chip Foushee will be recognized as members of the Hall of Honor. The event will be held on Saturday, June 28, and tickets are still available at $25 apiece. Visit for more details and to secure tickets.

There will be several new inductees into the Mebane Sports Hall of Fame later this month. 

The Eastern Alamance 2005 Women’s 800 and 1600 relay teams, Gerald Smith and James “JJ” Knox are the inductees for the June 18 ceremony at the Mebane Arts and Community Center. 

The 2005 Eastern Alamance Women’s state championship relay team featured Augusta Bartis, Hannah Flippin, Lakeyshia Foust, Fairren Thompson, and Courtney White. Together, they won the 4x400 relay and 4x200 relay in 2005. 

Gerald Smith was the first basketball player to score for Eastern Alamance High School in 1963 and a member of the first graduating class that year. Smith was named to the 1963 AP All-State Team and was named Most Valuable Player of the All-Alamance County Team by the Daily News. 

J.J. Knox started the cross-country program at Eastern Alamance High School in 1979 and the indoor track program in 1980. He coached track for nearly 30 years at Eastern. Under his guidance, the cross-country team won five conference championships and qualified for the state finals six times. He was voted Coach of the Year in the Mid-State Conference more than a dozen times. 

Hall of Honor recognition goes to Debbie Bullins, Glendel Stephenson and Chip Foushee. 

The keynote speaker for the event is Kirk Puckett, longtime sports radio broadcaster for Eastern Alamance High School and the surrounding area. 

Tickets, which includes dinner, are $25 and may be purchased by going to 

The event begins with a meet & greet at 5 pm followed by dinner at 5:30 pm and the awards ceremony at 6:15 pm. 

For more information, call 919-563-3629.