Kirby, Kohrman named Coaches of Year, 22 Eagles named All-Conference

Eastern Alamance head football coach John Kirby was named Coach of the Year for the Central Conference, which announced its All-Conference teams for fall sports on Monday, November 29. A total of 22 Eastern Alamance athletic standouts were named All-Conference in various fall sports, including 14 varsity football players. In addition, Kirby and EAHS women's cross country head coach Richard Kohrman were named the league's top coaches. Both Kirby and Kohrman led the Eagles to conference championships this fall. 

The Central Conference announced its All-Conference lists for fall sports on Monday, November 29, and the Eagles were well-represented across the board. Over 20 Eagle standouts were named All-Conference in the sports of football, women’s cross country, volleyball, men’s soccer, and women’s golf, while two Eastern High head coaches were named the league’s top coaches in their respective sports. 

It was another banner autumn for the Eagles on the fields, courses, and courts, as EAHS brought home the first-ever Central Conference championships in two sports - football and women’s cross country - while also featuring the state champion in women’s golf. 

Eastern also made a state playoff appearance in women’s volleyball - snapping a four-year streak without a NCHSAA postseason game - while earning a team berth in the NCHSAA 3A state cross country championships. 

Junior Emily Mathews, the two-time NCHSAA 3A state champion, was named All-Conference in women’s golf, while senior Kamari Mims was named All-Conference in volleyball. In addition, Chase Baptiste was named All-Conference in men’s soccer. 

The Central Conference champion EAHS varsity football team had a whopping 14 players selected to the All-Conference team, well more than any other school. In addition, star quarterback Hunter Douglas was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, while head coach John Kirby was named Coach of the Year. 

The Eastern High All-Conference football performers included Douglas at quarterback, Joshua Murray at running back, Hunter Westbrooks, Ce’Darion Williams, and Devin Clark at wide receiver, and Clyde Enoch and Brent Wheeley along the offensive line. 

On defense, the Eagles had linebackers Carter Stallings, Joey Teixeira, and Will Burnette all selected, in addition to defensive linemen Jake Libbey, Javontae Poteat, and Jamar Burton. In addition, the Eagles had Kasen McCawley, who starred for the Eagles at wide receiver and in the secondary, selected to the All-Central Conference squad. 

The EAHS women’s cross country team, which brought home the program’s first-ever conference championship, had a total of five runners - Catherine Parker, Audrey Hupman, Alena Pak, Rocio Rosa, and Grace Dobson - named All-Conference. In addition, Eastern head coach Richard Kohrman was named the league’s Coach of the Year. 

Although the EAHS men’s cross country squad didn’t have any runners named All-Conference, the Eagles, who placed fourth in the league standings, did earn one unique honor. The Eagles won the Men’s Sportsmanship Award for its sportsmanship among the Central Conference teams.